In Oregon, it is a serious offense to drive a car under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
First-time offenders can face major consequences after a DUI conviction. For multiple DUI charges, the penalties are even harsher, especially if they result in a felony conviction.
Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of cannabis, alcohol or controlled substances is not legal in Oregon. The law is more lenient toward first-time offenders in DUI cases. A conviction could result in fines between $1,000 and $6,250. In addition, a DUI charge has a minimum sentence of 48 hours in jail or 80 hours of community service. Up to one year of jail time is possible.
In a first-time DUI case, the state can suspend the offender’s license temporarily. Oregon allows drivers with suspended licenses to apply for a hardship permit for essential transportation, such as commuting to work or school. Additionally, someone with a DUI conviction must use an ignition interlock device before driving.
A second DUI conviction has similar penalties to a first offense; however, the license suspension period is a full year. Oregon drivers should be careful to avoid a third DUI charge, which can result in a minimum of 90 days and up to a year in jail.
Four DUIs in ten years could lead to a felony conviction and a maximum of five years in jail. In addition, the license suspension for a fourth DUI offense is permanent unless the offender petitions the court after a ten-year waiting period.
The consequences for a DUI in Oregon include fines, license suspensions, jail time and community service.