Personalized Services For Injuries And Criminal Charges In Oregon
The attorneys of Usera & Snow, P. C.
Usera & Snow, P. C.

Highlights of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in Oregon

On Behalf of | Mar 8, 2022 | Personal Injury

Oregon law requires all motor vehicle insurance policies, except motorcycles, to include a PIP benefit. PIP coverage makes payments for certain expenses to you or others injured in a motor vehicle accident.

You can get benefits from your policy if injured while driving your car. If you have an accident and someone else is at fault, your policy will typically pay you PIP benefits. PIP coverage extends to injuries caused by motor vehicles to persons walking or riding bikes.

Lost wages

If injuries from an accident caused you to miss work for more than two weeks, PIP benefits will pay you for lost income. The coverage includes up to 70% of your salary with a maximum of $3,000 per month. You can get lost wage coverage for a total of 52 weeks.

Medical Expenses

PIP will pay for your reasonable medical treatment for two years following the accident. PIP deductibles are unusual in Oregon and allowed only in certain circumstances. Oregon law requires a minimum of $15,000 in medical expense coverage, but you can increase the amount on your policy to ensure you can cover any required medical bills.

Other Benefits

Other items PIP coverage pays for include $5,000 towards funeral expenses. The benefit also has a provision to reimburse up to $25 per day for childcare if you have suffered a disabling injury. You can also get $30 per day for essential housekeeping services if you did not work at the time of the accident.

PIP insurance assists with paying specific bills and allows some peace of mind to persons injured in a motor vehicle accident.