Personalized Services For Injuries And Criminal Charges In Oregon
The attorneys of Usera & Snow, P. C.
Usera & Snow, P. C.

What should I do after a hit-and-run?

On Behalf of | Aug 25, 2020 | Motor Vehicle Accidents

Sustaining injury in any variety of motor vehicle accident is a difficult experience, but a hit-and-run accident is especially traumatizing. Watching the person who just struck your vehicle or bicycle driving off without stopping is very frustrating.

Understanding what to do in the aftermath of a hit-and-run accident is vital. After any auto accident, Oregon law requires you stop your vehicle in a safe place, provide aid if possible and necessary, and exchange information with the other driver(s). Finally, you must report the accident to the DMV within 72 hours in the event of any injury if damages to property or  vehicles are greater than $2,500.

Of course, completing these steps is difficult when someone flees the scene of an accident. While chasing after the fleeing driver may seem like a good idea, calling 911 and remaining at the scene is likely your best bet.

Should I talk to eyewitnesses?

Yes. Having as many eyewitness accounts as possible will definitely help your situation, both for any possible insurance claims and for possible law enforcement investigations. It is also possible that one of the eyewitnesses took video of the incident or maybe even got a photograph of the culprit’s license plate.

This will help you locate the culprit and potentially sue for damages. Fleeing the scene of an accident may also result in criminal charges if the local prosecutor or district attorney chooses to pursue them.

Being involved in a hit-and-run accident is a terrifying experience. You always hope the other party will do the right thing and remain at the scene after an accident, but that isn’t always the case. Knowing how to react beforehand can be beneficial in the event you or a loved one are involved in such an accident.